The Banner

One Earth

Department: Author: Mary Li MaChildren need to experience the wonder and awe of nature before they desire to love and conserve it. This poetic picture book works well with young hearts to nurture that desire. Its vibrant illustrations also present the theme of creation care with a carefully crafted

Shadow and Bone

Department: Author: Trevor DenningWhen J. R. R. Tolkien wrote “Even the smallest person can change the course of the future,” he unwittingly spoke of himself. The unassuming Tolkien brought to light an old form of storytelling that never fails to resonate with readers and inarguably changed the cou

Lioness: Mahlah’s Journey

Department: Author: Sonya VanderVeen FeddemaIn this first book of the three-part Daughters of Zelophehad series—the others are Heavenly Lights: Noah’s Journey, and Claiming Canaan: Milcah’s Journey—author Barbara Britton imagines the lives of the five orphaned daughters of Zelophehad, historical Is

Love Is a Revolution Audiobook

Department: Author: Michelle Loyd-Paige“Revolution is not a one-time event … or something that happens around us rather than inside of us.”—Audre LordeLove Is a Revolution is a delightful short listen. At the time of this writing, it is an Amazon Editor’s Pick as Best Young Adult Audiobook. There i

Faithful God

Department: Author: Paul DelgerI Am They focuses on vulnerability in themselves and their listeners, and Faithful God—album No. 3—testifies strongly to that mission. Themes include celebration, trust, and thankfulness. The music reflects solid pop with a little folk and a ballad or two mixed in. Th

Firekeeper’s Daughter

Department: Author: Natalie HartYou could describe Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley as a Native American Nancy Drew story. It is about an 18-year-old high school hockey star and science whiz with one white and one Ojibwe parent who winds up investigating wrongdoings in her Sault Ste. Marie

Chaos Walking

Department: Author: Cynthia BeachTodd Hewitt (Tom Holland) tries to control his thoughts. For good reason. Everyone can hear them. Todd lives in Prentisstown, a small colony on the New World of only men. It’s 2257AD, and the men on this planet are troubled. They call it the “Noise”—and like Todd, t

Under Scottish Stars

Department: Author: Sonya VanderVeen FeddemaIn this third book of The MacDonald Family Trilogy—following Five Days in Skye and London Tides—recently widowed Serena McDonald Stewart returns to the Isle of Skye where she grew up to run her family’s guest house. As the grieving single mother of 8-year

Ten Beautiful Things

Department: Author: Jenny deGrootLily holds her raccoon stuffy tight as Gram packs the car. Lily and Gram are getting ready to drive across Iowa to Gram’s house. Lily looks at the X on the far side of the map, marking the spot where Gram lives. It looks so far away. She feels hollow in her chest.

Atlantic Crossing

Department: Author: Lorilee CrakerFor fans of The Crown and World on Fire, here is a lavish 8-part miniseries from PBS Masterpiece Theater about the true-life friendship between Crown Princess Martha of Norway (Sofia Helin) and President Franklin Roosevelt (Kyle MacLachlan) during World War II.The

Quick to Listen Podcast

Department: Author: Kayleigh FongersThe book of James reminds believers of the importance of being quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry. In an age where we are constantly bombarded by news and information, this calling can be more challenging than ever. The Quick to Listen podca

Then Sings My Soul: 52 Hymns that Inspire Joyous Prayer

Department: Author: Sonya VanderVeen FeddemaAuthor of the three-book series Then Sings My Soul: 150 of the World's Greatest Hymn Stories, Robert J. Morgan now invites readers to embark on a meaningful spiritual journey by exploring the stories of the men and women who wrote and composed music for 5

The Mighty Ducks: Game Changers

Department: Author: Trevor DenningMy VHS copy of the original Mighty Ducks was recorded from the Disney Channel, and for a week one summer I watched it every day and (I kid you not) memorized every word of dialog. For that hour and forty-four minutes I wasn’t alone, I had a team to laugh with and a

Outside, Inside

Department: Author: Mary Li MaThe COVID-19 pandemic has ushered in an entirely different way of life. Stay-at-home orders, indoor masking, online learning, social distancing, and intense news cycles about the ongoing public health crisis have reshaped our daily interactions. It is an anxious and un

I Love You to the Stars: When Grandma Forgets, Love Remembers

Department: Author: Sonya VanderVeen FeddemaA young boy is delighted when his grandmother and her dog, Sunny, move in with him and his mother. Grandma gives the boy lots of attention, teaching him how to do jigsaw puzzles, listening to him as he reads out loud, and taking him to the playground and

The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person Audiobook

Department: Author: Michelle Loyd-PaigeThe first thing I noticed about The Black Friend audiobook was that the narrator’s voice was that of a man. And then it dawned on me that most of the audiobooks that I listen to are female-centered stories with female authors and female narrators. The Black Fr

Ravenna

Department: Author: Robert J. KeeleyIf you don’t know about the mosaics of Ravenna, Italy, do yourself a favor and Google them. Then spend a few minutes looking at these beautiful 1,600-year-old pieces of art that tell the Christian story. Inspired by this place and this art, keyboard player Jeff J

Teach Us to Pray: The Lord's Prayer in the Early Church and Today

Department: Author: Sonya VanderVeen FeddemaAuthor Justo L. Gonzalez takes readers on an historical retrospective of the Lord’s Prayer, from Jesus’ introduction of the prayer in the gospel narratives to the reflections of the early church fathers—Tertullian, Cyprian, Origen, Augustine, and Chrysost

The Mitchells vs. the Machines

Department: Author: Mary Li MaTo families with ongoing relationship tension or estranged teenagers, this movie promises a wonderful experience. It begins as a feel-good story but in fact provides food for thought regarding our human frailties and imperfections. The realism of this family dynamic in